Sign in to follow this  
Kenakth

Speed mod and thrusters may need toning down?

9 posts in this topic

I'm going to start this off by saying I'm fairly new to the game, so take anything I say here with a grain of salt. These are concerns I have about some mods which have been added to the server, and are my own opinion. If my information is incorrect, feel free to add that to the thread.

I'm not really sure what the speed mod really accomplishes in its current form on this server. It's a nice idea, but in execution I think it falls short.  The render time/distance is so low in this game that 400 m/s is not helpful for small grid ships, leaving them more or less without a role in PvP.  The render distance is around 1.6km, which means you travel the entire render distance in 4 seconds. Add in lag and render times, and often, you will be too close to the enemy ship to stop or change directions before their turrets are firing at you.  Additionally, the high speeds render rockets useless, and often dangerous to your own ship. The game wasn't balanced around having ships moving this fast. I would propose lowering large ship speeds from 180 m/s down to the base 100 m/s, and then changing small grid ships from the current 400 m/s down to ~150 m/s. This still gives small ships a speed advantage, while not having any serious downsides. Ideally, ships will render in before either of you is in firing range, helping to balance PvP between large grid and small grid ships, and it won't really negatively impact travel times, as it's most practical to just use a jump drive to get around anyways.